

SOUTHWESTERN RURAL PLANNING ORGANIZATION

TECHNICAL COORDINATING COMMITTEE (TCC) MEETING

November 13, 2019 at 1:00 PM

SCC Groves Center: 44 Siler Farm Rd. Franklin, NC

AGENDA

Welcome and Housekeeping

- 1. Introductions and Quorum check (Paige Dowling, TCC Chair)
- 2. Ethics Reminder* (Paige Dowling)
- 3. Agenda Approval/Modifications (Paige Dowling)
- 4. Public Comment

Action Items

5. Minutes from May 15, 2019 SWRPO TCC meeting (Rose Bauguess)

Informational Items

- 6. SWRPO Staff Update (Rose Bauguess)
- 7. NCDOT Division 14 Updates (Steve Williams)
- 8. NCDOT Transportation Planning Division Update (Roger Castillo)

Other Items

- 9. TCC Member Updates (All)
- 10. Adjournment (Dowling)

^{*}In accordance with the State Government Ethics Act, it is the duty of every TCC member to avoid conflicts of interest. If anyone has a conflict of interest with respect to any matters coming before the TCC today, please identify the conflict and refrain from any participation in the matter involved.



Southwestern Commission

125 Bonnie Lane, Sylva, NC 28779 | 828.586.1962

regiona.org

SOUTHWESTERN RURAL PLANNING ORGANIZATION (SWRPO) Technical Coordinating Committee (TCC) Meeting Summary

Meeting Date: May 15, 2019 Location: SCC, Franklin, NC

Jurisdiction	Representative	Title	05/15/2019	
Cherokee County	Randy Wiggins	County Manager		
Andrews	Bill Green	Town Manager		
Murphy	Chad Simons	Town Manager		
Clay County	Mark Pullium	County Manager		
Graham County	Becky Garland	County Manager		
Fontana Dam	Zelerie Rogers	Town Administrator		
Jackson County	Michael Poston	Planning Director	\boxtimes	
Dillsboro	Debbie Coffey	Town Clerk	\boxtimes	
Sylva	Paige R. Dowling, Chair	Town Manager		
Macon County	Jack Morgan	Planning & Development Director	\boxtimes	
Franklin	Justin Setser	Town Planner		
Highlands	Josh Ward	Town Manager		
Swain County	Ken Mills	Economic Development Director	\boxtimes	
Bryson City	Regina Mathis	Town Manager		
EBCI	Manual Maples	Cherokee DOT		
Transit	Kim Angel	Macon Co. Transit Director	\boxtimes	
NCDOT Division 14	Steve Williams	Division Planning Engineer		
NCDOT TPB	Roger Castillo (via phone)	SWRPO Coordinator	\boxtimes	
TOTAL VOTING MEMBERS PRESENT:				

Representing	Name	Title	Present
Southwestern Commission	Rose Bauguess	RPO Director	\boxtimes
Southwestern Commission	Becca Scott	Project Manager	\boxtimes
NCDOT Division 14	Troy Wilson	Corridor Development Engineer	\boxtimes
NCDOT Division 14	Chris Lee	District Engineer	\boxtimes
NCDOT Division 14	Alan Brown	Asst. District Engineer	\boxtimes
Clay County	Clay Logan	County Commissioner	\boxtimes
	·	TOTAL NON-VOTERS PRESENT:	6

Welcome and Housekeeping:

- 1. Chair Paige Dowling was absent; Vice-Chair Jack Morgan called the meeting to order. Introductions were made. Jack determined a quorum was present.
- 2. Jack reminded members of the ethics statement printed on the agenda.
- 3. Jack reviewed the agenda and asked if there were any modifications necessary. Ken Mills motioned to approve the agenda; Michael Poston seconded the motion and it was approved unanimously.
- 4. Jack offered the opportunity for public comment; no members of the public were present.

Action Items:

- 5. Rose Bauguess presented the minutes from the March 13, 2019 SWRPO TCC meeting for review and discussion. Michael Poston motioned to approve the minutes as presented, seconded by Ken Mills; the motion carried unanimously.
- 6. Rose presented the SWRPO FY 2020 Planning Work Program. Kim Angel motioned to approve the PWP; seconded by Michael Poston; the motion carried unanimously.

Informational Items:

- 7. Rose Bauguess provided the SWRPO Staff Update:
 - Final 2020-2029 STIP adoption date has been extended from July to September
 - Prioritization 6.0 Updates
 - o Schedule change: new project submittals October-December
 - New Highway criteria for Modernization projects
 - o SWRPO is allocated 20 new project submittals for P6.0 scoring
 - SWRPO is allocated a total of 1300 local input points for both Regional Impact and Division Needs category
 - o Optional 500 local input point flex between Regional Impact and Division Needs
- 8. NCDOT's Troy Wilson provided a presentation on the State Transportation Improvement Program.
- 9. Roger Castillo provided the Transportation Planning Division updates, including progress on the Macon County Comprehensive Transportation Plan.

Other Items:

- 10. TCC Members provided updates from their respective jurisdictions:
 - Kim Angel reported on the Public Transit Conference in Wilmington; there was a lot of discussion on the impact of managed care. NCDOT is merging the Public Transportation Division with the Bicycle and Pedestrian Division; the new director is Hannah Cockburn.

Macon County Transit is seeing an increase in demand for regional trips, while simultaneously losing a significant portion of federal funding.

- Debbie Coffey reported that Dillsboro's Monteith Park is now open, and the bridge over Scott's Creek is scheduled to let soon.
- Ken Mills reported that the Swain County Greenway committee has completed work to become a 501(c)3 organization.
- Michael Poston reported on Jackson County's Cullowhee Small Area Plan.
- Jack Morgan reported that the Macon County Comprehensive Plan passed unanimously, and that Macon County was looking at completing a space needs analysis of county buildings. South Macon Elementary School is adding six classrooms.
- Clay Logan reported the NC 175 construction project is going well and that it will include bike lanes. There have also been several new trails added to the Jackrabbit system.
- 11. Poston moved to adjourn; Debbie Coffey made a second.