Digital Inclusion Plans

In 2022, the Southwestern Commission engaged in a planning process focused on addressing the digital divide in Region A. The objective was to identify barriers preventing citizens from adopting internet services and formulate a strategy to alleviate these obstacles. Recognizing the pivotal role of digital access in people’s lives and its impact on community empowerment and engagement, the Southwestern Commission crafted Region A’s Digital Inclusion Plans. These plans propose measures to eliminate barriers to success for citizens in rural Western North Carolina, ensuring they have the necessary digital access, devices, skills, and confidence to secure jobs, earn degrees, and actively participate in the world. By “Closing the Digital Divide,” the aim is to level the playing field and bring Western North Carolina in line with the broader state, country, and global standards.

View and Download the Plans Below: 

Cherokee County Plan

Qualla Boundary Plan

Swain County Plan

Macon County Plan

Jackson County Plan

Haywood County Plan

Graham County Plan

Clay County Plan