Welcome to the Southwestern Commission

- your regional council of government. We serve as a technical, economic, and planning resource to local towns and counties in our western region.

Officially known as the Southwestern North Carolina Planning and Economic Development Commission, we cover the counties of Cherokee, Clay, Graham, Haywood, Jackson, Macon, and Swain, the 17 municipalities therein, and the Eastern Band of Cherokee Indians.

Southwestern North Carolina continues to change rapidly, and as the population increases, so does demand on local government to provide the needed services and infrastructure. The Southwestern Commission remains on the leading edge of this growth, providing expertise in land use planning, economic and workforce development, and elderly services. Our work, and your love of this region, ensure that regional growth occurs in a healthy and sustainable manner that benefits us all.

Featured Posts

Draft List of Priority Transportation Projects Available for Public Comment

Southwestern Commission’s Rural Planning Organization is seeking public comment on the list of transportation projects that have been selected for potential funding in NCDOT’s 2020-2029 State Transportation Improvement Program. These are the projects that our local governments have prioritized and hope to obtain funding for future construction. Selection is based on a combination of quantitative data, such as traffic volume, crash data, etc. as well as qualitative Local Priority rankings, results of the online public input survey, and other factors. For more information on the process, please review the SWRPO Prioritization 5.0 Local Methodology on the Prioritization 5.0 section of our site.

Please send comments to Rose Bauguess at rose@region.org by July 27th.  Draft Local Input Point Assignments for Regional Projects

2017 Annual Report Released

Our 2017 Annual Report is now available!  The Annual Report is full of information about the projects and programs that the Southwestern Commission has been working on in the last year, and it also includes  information and ideas about ways that we can work with our partners in the coming year.

“This annual report presents a snapshot of the work we do throughout the year. All of it depends on the dedication of local elected officials as well as the multitude of agencies and organizations with which we collaborate. Together we are laying the groundwork for a bright future for Region A, as so many before us have done.”

-Sarah Thompson, Executive Director

Click HERE to access the report.